American Spirit Whiskey

One of the best things to come out of Flickr, other than meeting my wonderful wife, was American Spirit Whiskey. I got a phone call one day from Matt Holloway, an art director who had found my photography on Flickr while searching for work that fit the branding idea of an upstart Georgia whiskey. He wanted to know if I was interested in providing several images to be used as the brand photos and to find and take the photograph to be used on the bottle label. Well, how could I refuse an opportunity like that!?! In the end, five of my photographs were picked to represent the brand. The challenge was finding the scene that the owners and Matt had in mind for the label. One day Anna, Matt, and I set off to north Georgia (with a slight detour into NC somehow, lol) in search. We came across one spot that might have worked, but it wasn’t perfect. After a lot of driving I was starting to get worried…until I made a turn onto a small road and looked off to the left. We all knew immediately we had found our spot, it was more than we could have asked for.

With the money shot in hand, all we had to do was wait for the bottles to be made! This project provided me with an opportunity to try new things, I had never done commercial work before. I learned how to shoot on-white product photos, by trail and error and a cardboard box. Photographing glass is no easy thing! Overall the whole experience was a fun and wonderful learning experience and I hope to have a chance to do more work for the brand in the future.

And by the way, the whiskey is delicious…

Leave a Reply

