The Hearth Of The Matter

When I first enter a old abandoned home, one of the first things I look for are the fireplaces. I have an unmistakeable draw to them. In my eyes, they are the soul of a house. The hearth is where the people drew their warmth from the cold and the hearth is where they gathered together. In front of the hearth, life was lived. I think of the wealth of stories one could learn, if only the hearth could relate them. The good and bad, the funny and sad…it has experienced them all while providing its comfort. To me, it’s clear why the word hearth is made of the word  “heart” , just with an “h” on the end, it is the symbolic  heart of any old home.

Leave a Reply

