Imperfect Perfection

As machines become more and more efficient and perfect, so it will become clear that imperfection is the greatness of man.
-Ernst Fischer

Once again I am playing with the Rockland tintype kit. Its been quite some time and I am having to experiment with it. It’s a simple process with finicky variables. It’s a lot of fun to experiment though! I’m using the Graflex to make the exposures, which is a lot better than the old box camera I was originally using. I need to practice my emulsion spreading to get a thinner coat, it seems to get a texture to it were it has pooled thicker when developed. Over all though, I love this image of Anna. I love the imperfection, there is a beauty in it. I have never tried to obtain perfection in my photography because I am imperfect as well.

2 thoughts on “Imperfect Perfection

  1. A very lovely 19th century look at a 21st century beauty—a wonderful example of why photography is so endlessly fascinating. This is an exceptional image, Evan.

Leave a Reply

