Holding On

Korona Home Portrait Camera 8X10 Paper Negative

Yesterday I took the 8X10 down to the river and it was truly an experience. First of all, if you haven’t noticed, it’s been hot lately. Now the 8X10 is a heavy camera, I’m not sure how heavy, but it is probably at least 10 pounds. I had to walk  a long way to get to where I wanted to shoot. People were giving me odd looks as I walked around with this thing, and I got a few interesting questions. I have to say it was all worth it though. When I set up my first shot, standing by the running water amongst the quiet of nature, I was at peace. There is a sense of happiness and contentment I get when I set up a shot in the ground glass of this camera. This tree fascinates me, I keep coming back to it. Its exposed roots, twisted and hanging on to its eroding earth, speak to me. It’s fighting the fight, holding on, just to exist.

One thought on “Holding On

Leave a Reply

