Lizzie Harris 1898-1900

Korona Home Portrait Camera 8X10 Paper Negative

There are two kinds of light – the glow that illumines, and the glare that obscures.” 

~James Thurber

The sense of the unknown in cemeteries has always intrigued me. There is a beauty to be found within the sad atmosphere of the loss of life. With camera in hand, I have been visiting cemeteries since I was a kid. I’m not sure what I have been trying to capture.  I know, at this point in my life, I am trying to capture something I can’t see. The mystery at the end, a moment of truth. The 8X10 seems to see things I can not, it gives me some sort of clarity that my eyes cannot process until I see what the camera saw.

Leave a Reply

